Four Inducted into W&L Athletic Hall of Fame

Four Washington and Lee athletes wee honored last week with induction into the Hall of Fame. The new inductees are:

The athletes were honored at a banquet on the campus on Friday, Sept., 11, and were then introduced at halftime of the Generals’ football game against the University of the South on the following afternoon at Wilson Field. The four honorees were successful on the conference and national level, winning numerous all-conference and several All-America awards in their respective sports. In the video below, they talk about the honor and their memories of W&L:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

1 Response to “Four Inducted into W&L Athletic Hall of Fame”


  1. 1 WR(Bill) Sargent,JR. September 16, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    “Gibby” and I were classmates. I visited with him earlier this summer at his home. He was truly a great wrestler.
    I played on the 1952 and 1953 football teams before the school decided to drop it. It was quite an experience for a 19 year old to see many of your friends leave under those conditions. I will tell you that most of us were true scholar athletes.
    I came back for the 45th reunion and that helped heal some of the wounds.I could not attend the 50th as I was chairman of the same class at the University of South Carolina and the two conflicted.

    I am very proud of “Gibby”.


Comments are currently closed.




