Hall of Famers Coming to Town

Unbeaten 1961 Generals

Unbeaten 1961 Generals

This weekend’s Hall of Fame induction will mark the third time that an entire team has been inducted as one. The 1961 football team, unbeaten and winners of the “Timmie Trophy” from the Washington, D.C., Touchdown Club as the Outstanding Small College Football team in the country will join four former Generals as this year’s inductees. Prior to this year, the other teams that were so honored were the 1988 men’s tennis team, which won the national championship, and the 1950 football team, which won the Southern Conference and played in the Gator Bowl.

That 1961 team was truly dominant. It outscored opponents 297 to 46 and had only one close call, a season-opening win over Hampden-Sydney.

In addition to the ’61 team, this year’s inductees are Dave Warfield ’75 (lacrosse), Jack Berry ’76 (football), Andrew White ’88 (track and field), and Beth Stutzmann ’90 (track and field, soccer, and swimming).

The Hall of Fame was established in 1987 and inducted its first class in 1988. The Hall of Fame Web site has profiles of all the inductees and also features a form for nominations.

%d bloggers like this: